The Amsterdam Film Festival celebrates films that capture both the artistry and progressive nature of world cinema today.  Created to recognize and award films that have potential to move audiences and change perceptions, the Amsterdam Film Festival is devoted to filmmakers whose quest is self-expression and communication.  

Much like Amsterdam itself, the Amsterdam Film Festival contains a unique mix of art and expression.  Its vision is one that has been realized by filmmakers who live for the art of filmmaking and who recognize the passion that lies within each work.

Honoring films from over 90 countries around the world, the Amsterdam Film Festival awards and recognizes Feature Films, Short Films, Documentaries, Student Films, Animation, Music Videos, Screenplays and more.  The festival accepts submissions of all types and encourages individuality and experimentation.

The Amsterdam Film Festival is an awards based competition designed to provide worthy films and filmmakers with recognition for their filmmaking achievements.  Films are not screened publicly.  Once the Judges have concluded the judging process, winners will be announced on our official website and via our Internet based promotions announcing the winners to the public and industry media.

Screenplay Competition
Concurrentie Van Het Scenario

The Amsterdam Film Festival proudly supports the art of screenwriting by allowing new talent to be heard and discovered in our annual Screenplay Competition.  Top screenplays in the competition are awarded based on the quality and originality of the work. The Amsterdam Film Festival seeks to discover and revere the finest and most original voices in screenwriting from around the globe.

Van Gogh Awards

Each year, the Amsterdam Film Festival recognizes excellence in filmmaking in several categories with the prestigious Van Gogh Awards.  The AFF Jury en het Beoordelen van Comité will award films in the following categories: screenplay, direction, actor and actress, performances, art, photography, editing, animation, short film, feature narrative, documentary, music video, experimental, first-time director, and student films.  In addition, Special Jury Prizes will be awarded to several standout films at the discretion of the Jury.